“I LOVE YOU” for a penny

English: Large amount of pennies

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever heard the phrase, “if I had a nickle for every time….”.

Well, OK. It’s an old one. Originated at a time when you could actually buy something for a nickle. Well, yeah I can still remember a time that when you could actually buy five pieces of candy for a nickle. They weren’t individually wrapped and the little old lady at the counter didn’t wear a plastic glove and most times you found the pennies laying in the street, in the dirt and grim. Mmmm licked your fingers when you were done.

But what I really want to talk about is “I love you”.

If I had a penny for every time someone in the world said “I love you”, today. How much money would I have?

I know, I know. Its a statistical nightmare, but we’ll set some flexible parameters and make some very broad assumptions. We’ll limit it to a romantic “I love you”, exclude the default “I love you” we say to children, parents, grand-parents and cousins. Unless of course you’re doing your cousin but that’s a topic for a future article.

This will not take long, we have modern technology!

Good morning Siri. Yes I know you are busy. If I got a penny for every time someone said “I love you” today, how much money would I have? No I don’t have anything better to do.

Human population of Earth: 6.97 billion (wow). 118 people per square mile. 27 median age. 45% are 15yrs or older =3,136,500,000. Lets be generous and say that 1 out of every 10 will say “I love you”. That’s 313,650,000 pennies or $3,136,500.00 . Nice! Please say “I love you”, today and send me penny.

I wonder how much I would have left, if I had to give back a penny for every time someone said “I hate you”. NO I don’t want to know.

I love you, Siri. No its not just physical.

